How old are the appalachian mountains?

The Appalachian Mountains first formed roughly 480 million years ago, in the Ordovician Period. They used to be about the same height as the Alps, but due to erosion over the millions of years, no longer are.

---

The Appalachians first formed roughly 480 million years ago during the Ordovician Period. They once reached elevations similar to those of the Alps and the Rocky Mountains before experiencing natural erosion.