What comes first in a rainbow?

The colors in order of occurrence are: Black, Brown, Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet, Gray, White. A rainbow is formed when light refracts through water droplets in the air. Usually the eye only sees the more vivid colors starting with red and ending at the edge of violet.