How does army time work?

Army (or military time) runs on a 24 hour day. The day starts at midnight which is 0000, and from midnight to noon the time is essentially the same ie 9:00 AM is 0900 in military time. After 12:00, you simply have to add 12 hours to the time to get military time. 8:00PM becomes 2000 hours