Why is it called mincemeat pie?

Mincemeat was and still is a substance made of fruit, raisins, and small bits of meat which has been mixed with some alcoholic base and spices. In some areas (ie the US) there is no meat in mincemeat. But there is in many other locations in Europe. To mince means to chop finely.