How do you put a banner on your shield in minecraft?

In the crafting menu, you should see a crafting area that is made up of a 3x3 crafting grid. To make a custom shield, place 1 shield and 1 banner in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making a custom shield, it is important that the shield and banner are placed in the exact pattern as the image below.