What kind of movie is chitty chitty bang bang?

Chitty chitty bang bang was written by Ian Fleming, creator of the James Bond series. Chitty chitty bang bang is a quirky fantasy movie that involves a widower inventor, his children, a Fleming-esque named romantic interest, his innovative automobile and the efforts of an evil baron to steal it.