How is sauces made?

Sauces are the melding of ingredients including stocks, wine, aromatics, herbs and dairy into a harmonious taste. Most small sauces are based on the principle of reduction; cooking down various liquids with aromatics, wine, and herbs, to meld, concentrate, and balance the flavor and consistency.