Where do botflies live?

The human bot fly is native to Central and South America. The fly is not known to transmit disease-causing pathogens, but the larvae of Dermatobia hominis will infest the skin of mammals and live out the larval stage in the subcutaneous layer, causing painful pustules that secrete fluids.