What number is return of the jedi?

Return of the Jedi is the sixth episode in George Lucas' Skywalker Saga, though it was the third Star Wars film to be released. The Episodic system was retroactively applied to the first three Star Wars movies upon the release of the prequel trilogy in 1999.