What does solemnly swear mean?

Swearing, is used to make an oath of honesty, to tell the truth, or live up to a commitment, particularly in legal settings. Solemnly raises the bar to making the commitment on a sacred level to a god or a belief system. So, a very serious matter asks for people to solemnly swear.