Who abdicated the throne in england?

King Edward the Eighth abdicated the throne to marry an American who was already a two time divorcee. He abdicated in favor of his brother who became King George the Sixth, the father of Queen Elizabeth II. King Edward VIII was given the title of Duke of Windsor after the abdication.