Do crocodiles have spikes?

Each spike on an alligator's back is called a scute. Inside the scute is a bone that helps protect the alligator from attack.

---

Yes. The epidermal exoskeleton of the crocodile or alligator consist of oblong horny scales, called spikes, arranged in transverse rows; the long axes of the scales are parallel to that of the body.