What is a space odyssey?

2001: a Space Odyssey was a 1968 movie. It depicted humanity interacting with a rectangular obelisk at several points of development: pre-humanoid, modern and early space travel to Jupiter in the near future. It features a computer named HAL that goes haywire, forcing the crew to disable it.