What's closer to earth mars or the sun?

The distance from the Sun to earth is on average 93 million miles, which is one astronomical unit. The distance from the sun to Mars is 1.52 astronomical units. Therefore Mars is .52 units (48,678,219 miles) from Earth and Mars is closer.

---

Mars is closer to Earth than the Sun.