What happened in the year nineteen thirteen?

According to Wikipedia, In 1913, the 16th Amendment (for United States income tax) was ratified, however, the United States Constitution Article 1, Section 9 defines a direct tax. The Sixteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution did not create a new tax.

---

Turkish - Greek sea battle near Troy