What was the name of the first american spaceship to orbit the earth?

On February 20, 1962, John H. Glenn, Jr., became the first American to orbit Earth aboard the spaceship Friendship 7. An Atlas launch vehicle propelled the spacecraft into Earth orbit and enabled Glenn to circle Earth three times.