How long can you be in space?

Scientists don't yet know the answer to this question. Russian cosmonaut Valery Polyakov spent nearly 438 consecutive days aboard the Mir space station, from January 1994 to March 1995. He holds the record for longest single human spaceflight but we don't know how long is too long yet.