What's the definition of stemming?

Here are 2 different definitions for stemming: 1. originate in or be caused by. "many of the universities' problems stem from rapid expansion" 2. remove the stems from (fruit or tobacco leaves). "her aunt and her mother were stemming currants on the side porch"