What song goes why do birds suddenly appear every time you are near?

Those lyrics are from "Close To You" - which was composed by Burt Bacharach & Hal David. Made famous by The Carpenters - a brother and sister duo - and sung by Karen Carpenter, it was released in May of 1970. It was the title song on their second studio album which was released in August of 1970.