Why does baking soda and vinegar explode?

When the baking soda meets the vinegar, there is a chemical reaction as carbon dioxide gas is created and creates bubbles filled with the gas. Depending on the temperature of the ingredients, this reaction might be so fast it looks like a small explosion.