What is it called when you eat outside?

When you eat outside, it is called dining al fresco or picnicking regardless of location although In the U S the phrase al fresco is more commonly used to describe eating at a restaurant's outdoor table & picnicking used to describe less formal outdoor dining, such as on a beach blanket by the sea.