What do chickens need to lay eggs?

Chickens lay unfertilized eggs because their instinct is to collect a clutch of them to prepare for nesting and raising a peep of chicks to reproduce due to ovulation.

---

Chickens lay one or sometimes more unfertilized or fertilized eggs a day until they have collected a clutch. If you continually collect eggs daily they will continually lay eggs because their goal is to have a clutch.