How do you soften brown sugar quickly?

Place the sugar in a microwave-safe bowl, lay a moist paper towel on top, and microwave it for 20 seconds. If you find that the sugar still isn't soft after 20 seconds, give it another 20 seconds or so in the microwave, breaking up big pieces with a fork as you go.