What year did chevrolet introduce the camaro?

The Chevrolet Camaro went on sale on September 29, 1966, for the 1967 model year and was designed as a competing model to the Ford Mustang. The car shared its platform and major components with the Pontiac Firebird, also introduced in 1967.