What year did abraham lincoln take part in civil war?

Abraham Lincoln was the President of the United States during the Civil War. As such he was the Commander in Chief of the Union Army. The Civil War lasted from 1861-1865. Lincoln was assassinated a few days after the Confederate surrender.