Are black beans considered legumes?

Black beans are legumes, which include beans, peas, lentils, and peanuts. There are a number of types of black beans, including Domino, Black Magic, Blackhawk, Condor, and Raven. Black turtle beans are the most common and the most readily available in grocery stores in both dried and canned form.