What's the difference between a water bug and a roach?

Cockroach and water bug differences Size - generally a water bug is bigger than a cockroach. Most cockroaches are between 1 - 1 AND ONE HALF inches long. Water bugs are usually about two inches long. Habitat - water bugs get their name because they prefer to spend their time in the water.