What's the average lifespan of a male fish?

Depending on the species, most fish when given the proper environment, can have a long life expectancy. Goldfish life expectancy is ten to fifteen years. A beta fish in captivity can have a life expectancy of 3-5 years and a Koi Fish in a large pond with high end filtration can live 40 years!