Who is mr. fahrenheit?

In the Queen song, "Don't Stop Me Now," Freddie Mercury penned the lyric, "That's why they call me Mr. Fahrenheit." But historically, Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit may be the most well known Mr. Fahrenheit. He first proposed the temperature scale that bears his name.