What is a four oh one k savings account?

A 401k is tax-advantaged retirement plan that allows employees to contribute a portion of wages to individual accounts. Employers may contribute too. Except in the case of a Roth 401k (which has other tax advantages) employee contributions and and investment profits are not taxed until withdrawal.