How do cats drink water?

According to NPR.ORG, cats have an elaborate way of drinking. First, they move the tip of their tongue onto the surface of the water to flick the water up so that a little jet of liquid flies into the air. Then, they catch the jet in their mouth. Drinking cats flick their tongues 4 times a second.