What's a dark skinned pear?

The answer to the crossword puzzle clue "Dark Skinned Pear" is BOSC. The Bosc is a cultivar of the European pear (Pyrus communis), originally from France or Belgium. Also known as the Kaiser, it is grown in Europe, Australia, British Columbia and Ontario, Canada, & the northwestern U.S. states.