How do you craft stone?

In Minecraft, to make stone, you to place cobblestone in a furnace. In real life, igneous rock is made from volcanic activity melting rocks. Metamorphic rock is made by rock getting super heated (not melted) and becoming stratified by pressure. Sedimentary rock is pressed together particles of rock.