Why are roses red and violets blue?

. Red roses contain pigment molecules that absorb well in the blue region of the spectrum (higher energy) and scatter light in the red (which we see). Blue violets absorb light preferentially in the red region of the spectrum (lower energy) and scatter the blue light which we see.