Who came up with holidays?

The word holiday comes from the Old English word hāligdæg. The word originally referred only to special religious days. The first four congressionally designated U.S. federal holidays were created in 1870: New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.