How do you mind ice in minecraft?

Ice can be easily destroyed without tools, but the use of a pickaxe speeds up the process. It can be broken instantly with Efficiency III on a diamond pickaxe. If mined without Silk Touch, the block drops nothing, and instead is replaced with water if there is a block under the ice block.