How can you tell if a butternut squash is ripe?

You tell if a butternut squash is ripe by looking at the color and texture of the outer rind. If there is any green at all, it is not ripe. Also, a ripe squash should be hard, an even color, and not at all glossy according to the Farmer's Almanac.