How many indian tribes are in maine?

There are 4 Indian tribes in the state of Maine: The Maliseet, Micmac, Penobscot, & Passamaquoddy. Each tribe has its own government, schools, & land. Collectively, the Indians of Maine are known as Wabanaki, meaning, "People of the dawn land".