How is prosciutto made?

Prosciutto is made from the hind leg or thigh of a pig or wild boar. Once the leg is cleaned, it is heavily salted and left for two months in a cool, controlled environment. ... After the salting process, the salt is washed from the meat and then left to dry age for up to 18 months.