Why is the bronx called the bronx?

The Bronx got its name from Swedish immigrant Jonas Bronck, who arrived in New Netherland during the spring of 16 39. He leased the land from the Dutch West India Company, north of the Dutch settlement of New Haarlem. Dutch and English settlers referred to the area as Bronck's Land.