How much was a dollar worth in nineteen seventy five?

Using the Consumer Price Index for the year 1975 as compared to 2020, an item purchased today for $4.25 would have cost one dollar in 1975. Put another way, an item costing a dollar in 2020 would have cost just under twenty-eight cents in 1975.