What is nine carat gold?

9-karat gold contains 9 parts pure gold and 15 parts additional metals such as silver, tin, nickel, zinc, palladium, etc. Calculated as a percentage, the purity of a 9K alloy is 37.5% – this is the proportion of pure gold it contains.