What does the word immune mean?

resistant to a particular infection or toxin owing to the presence of specific antibodies or sensitized white blood cells.

---

The meaning of immune is "resistant to a particular infection or toxin owing to the presence of specific antibodies or sensitized white blood cells". A second meaning is "protected or exempt, especially from an obligation or the effects of something."