What's the average gpa in the united states?

The average high school GPA in the USA is 3.0, which also accounts for the 35% or so of students who don't end up applying for college. So anything above 3.0 is above average in the US. Of college applicants, however, the average GPA is more likely to be closer to 3.5 to 4.0.