Do dogs have menstrual periods?

Unspayed cats and dogs will have a period – or more correctly – come into heat. In female dogs, at the onset of heat, the vulva becomes quite swollen and will bleed so much they will leave spots of blood all over the house. ... Dogs cycle anywhere from every 4 months to once every 12 -16 months.