What would happen if we didn't have the sun?

If the sun wasn't EVER here, then life never would have evolved since that energy and heat was a requirement to the formation of life as we know it. If the sun were to somehow be removed NOW, after civilization exists, then life on the planet would be extinguished without its heat and light.