Does rice turn into sugar?

Yes rice turns in to sugar. The GI is a scale that measures how quickly the body converts the carbs from a food into glucose and how rapidly this affects blood sugar levels. ... Foods that are high on the scale, such as white bread and sugary beverages, convert quickly into glucose.