Has there ever been a cat in the white house?

There have been several. During their terms as president, Abe Lincoln, Rutherford B. Hayes, Teddy Roosevelt, Calvin Coolidge, Gerald Ford, Jimmy Carter, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush, all had one or more feline companions sharing space with them in the White House.