What's the difference between a two k. t. v. and a four k. t. v.?

2K reference resolution is 2048 × 1536 pixels, whereas 4K reference resolution is 4096 × 3072 pixels. This means a screen of the same size, say 60", the 4k would have more pixels per square inch, creating sharper and better images.