Where does mac and cheese originate from?

As you might expect, mac and cheese traces its roots to Italy, home of many pasta dishes. The "Liber de Coquina," or "Book of Cooking," an Italian cookbook from the 13th century, includes a recipe called de lasanis that foodie historians believe is the first macaroni and cheese recipe.

---

The first modern recipe for mac and cheese was included in Elizabeth Raffald's 1769 book, The Experienced English Housekeeper. Raffald's recipe is for a Béchamel sauce with cheddar cheese which is mixed with macaroni, sprinkled with Parmesan, and baked until bubbly and golden.